Posted by: eveyoga | March 30, 2012

The other day my computer crashed. I felt like a baby that had lost its dummy. My first thought was: do I have back-ups? I wasn’t sure, and that’s bad.

I wonder if other people get as mad at their computers as I do with mine when it won’t bend to my will. My thinking is that a computer is this labour-saving thing that is supposed to make my life easier. Most of the time it does. Then, just when I’ve been lulled into thinking we’re working as an efficient team, the machine does something completely  aberrant. Or, I expect it to do something spectacular that I think computers are supposed to do, but it can’t.

I’m embarrassed to admit that I get mad at my husband, too, when I can’t work something out on my computer. He’s a smart IT guy, steeped in computer nous, and a brilliant problem solver. When I ask him why the blasted computer isn’t working properly, unbelievably, he sometimes doesn’t know. He might even say, “Reboot!”

Well, on the day when I thought my computer had died, Daniel did manage to resuscitate it.

I promised the Powers That Be that I would not be so reactive to my Mac or my husband, and that I would check on my back-ups.


Leave a comment

Categories