Posted by: eveyoga | December 6, 2010

Yoga and Hysterectomy

A colleague just wrote to me and asked for some info about the above topic. I had a total hysterectomy done on me more than 7 years ago, and, at the time, I couldn’t find much in the way of what yogic practices would help me pre-and-post surgery. I dug around until I could get together a repertoire of helpful tools. It occurred to me that this blog is a great way to get my research and experience out there.

So, here’s a link for a precis I wrote: Yoga and Hysterectomy

Also, check out a fabulous website devoted to women who are facing the prospect of needing a hysterectomy or wanting advice about recovery. I love the name; it’s called: Hyster Sisters

 

 

Responses

  1. Hi Eve,
    happy birthday for the other day! I want to acknowledge how inspiring you are – the way you incorporate your own health-healing-mind-body-spirit journey into your own yoga practice and then share it in your teaching; your honesty, vulnerability humour – and wisdom – I truly value.

    much love jeni

    ps just completed my DCA film and thesis at UTS (also teaching); the film has one more ABC broadcast to go; chapter of thesis in Passionate Histories: Myth, Memory And Indigenous Australia: http://epress.anu.edu.au/aborig_history/passionate/pdf/ch13.pdf

    As you were my yoga teacher around my pregnancy (1985!) news of my daughter -she graduated in medicine last year and is now an intern at St.Vincent’s Darlinghurst; ah, the passage of the years – a mystery! ” Life’s Impermanence” : http://www.katinkahesselink.net/tibet/t1.htm

    • Thanks for your kind words, Jeni. Congratulations on completing your film and thesis. You’re amazing! As for your daughter, last I saw her, she was finishing her HSC. What an accomplishment to have done medicine. You and Stephen must be so proud. Sending love, hugs, E.

  2. Wish I’d had your advice a few years back when I went through my “issues”. Please read the attached and let me know if it makes you laugh!

    • Hi there, You’re right. Your writing did make me laugh. Are you the one who had the hysterectomy? Cheers from Australia….

      • I did years ago, but I wrote the advice for my sister who had one several years later. I’m glad you enjoyed it!


Leave a Reply

Categories